Joint Meeting of the CAREC Customs Cooperation Committee and CAREC Federation of Carrier and Forwarder Associations

Dushanbe, Tajikistan: 20 September 2017

(Enlarge photo)


Heads and senior officials of customs authorities of Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, the People's Republic of China, Georgia, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan attended the third joint meeting between the CAREC Customs Cooperation Committee (CCC) and the CAREC Federation of Carriers and Forwarders Associations (CFCFA), together with representatives from the 23 CFCFA member associations.

The joint meeting agreed on enhancing collaboration between customs authorities and the private sector particularly in the following trade facilitation activities:

  • Piloting of a CAREC Advanced Transit System.
  • Consultation with CFCFA on trusted operators, on guarantee requirements, and guarantee mechanisms.
  • Piloting of Information Common Exchange.
  • Piloting of the Anjiyan-Osh-Kashgar-Shenzhen Corridor.
  • Establishment of CFCFA standards in consultation with CCC and other stakeholders, with support from ADB and other donors
  • Support for the implementation of the Trade Facilitation Agreement.
  • More investment and technical assistance projects (Regional Improvement of Border Services, Regional Upgrades of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures for Trade Project, Regional Technical Assistance projects) for trade facilitation.
  • Formulation of new Trade Facilitation Strategy.


Related Links