15th Transport Sector Coordinating Committee (TSCC) Meeting

Bangkok, Thailand: 20-22 April 2016

(Click on image to enlarge)

CAREC countries - with Georgia as observer - and eight development partners confirmed progress toward completion of the six CAREC transport corridors.

Participants agreed to make railways a mode of choice, CAREC corridors safer, and road assets more sustainable, and improve logistics and cross-border transport.

The meeting reviewed the implementation of the CAREC Transport and Trade Facilitation Strategy 2020 and the Transport Sector Work Plan (2015-2017), and discussed issues of key importance to the transport sector including railways, road safety, asset management and transport facilitation.

The TSCC was updated on the progress made in 2015 in the transport sector under the CAREC program, and confirmed with satisfaction the Transport Sector Progress Report and Work Plan (2016-2018).


The meeting noted in particular (i) good progress toward physical completion of the six multimodal CAREC corridors, and (ii) substantive work conducted on soft-side issues such as railway coordination, road safety, road asset management and transport facilitation.

Furthermore, the meeting discussed the possible work of the TSCC moving forward, in light of the new Sustainable Development Goals, and the mid-term review of CAREC 2020.

The meeting endorsed the outputs of the aforementioned Railway Working Group and Road Safety Workshop, and asked that the preparation of the CAREC Railway Strategy and CAREC Road Safety Strategy be expedited for endorsement at the Senior Officials' Meeting in June 2016, and subsequently the 15th Ministerial Conference in October 2016.

The meeting was chaired by Pakistan, in its role as Chair to the CAREC program in 2016, and was preceded by two workshops on railways and road safety.

Pakistan also reconfirmed its eagerness to conduct a truck caravan to showcase the rebooting of the Quadrilateral Traffic in Transit Agreement  between People's Republic of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, and Pakistan.


Related Links